Award-Winning Childrens Books

Newbery Award

The John Newbery Medal Winners

The John Newbery Medal, commonly referred to as the Newbery, has been awarded every year since 1922. It is named for John Newbery, an eighteenth-century British publisher of juvenile books. The Newbery Medal is awarded to an author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal Winners

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. This award has been presented every year since 1938. The Caldecott Medal is given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Coretta Scott King Award

The Coretta Scott King Award Winners

The Coretta Scott King Awards are presented annually by the American Library Association to honor African-American authors and illustrators who create outstanding books for children and young adults. The award was established in 1969 to recognize authors and was then expanded to include a separate award for illustrators in 1979. These awards are given to commemorate the life and work of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King (April 27, 1927 to January 30, 2006) for her continuing efforts in working for peace and civil rights issues.

Volunteer State Award

Volunteer State Book Award Winners

The Volunteer State Book Award is sponsored annually by the Tennessee Library Association and the Tennessee Association of School Librarians. Each year, children across Tennessee are asked to read books from a list of nominated titles. There are three divisions which include--Primary (Grades K-3), Intermediate (Grades 4-6), and YA (Grades 7 & up). In the spring, those students who have read or listened to at least three of the titles from the list are eligible to vote for their favorite titles. The book with the most votes statewide wins the award.