Contact Info.

Circuit Court Clerk
2 Millennium Plaza
Suite 115
Clarksville, TN 37040

Phone: 931-648-5700
Fax: 931-648-5729
Email: [email protected]

Welcome to the Circuit Court Clerk's Office

Our online records website inquiry has been updated. Click here for tips on how the updates work! Please send any comments or suggestions to [email protected]

Wendy Davis, Circuit Court Clerk

Wendy Davis

Circuit Court Clerk

The Circuit Court Clerk is a constitutional officer and is elected to four (4) year terms. The Circuit Court Clerk ensures the efficient operations of our courts by maintaining dockets and records, handling administrative matters and serving as goodwill ambassadors to the public. The duties and authority of a Circuit Court Clerk are outlined in T.C.A. 18-1-105 and T.C.A. 18-1-108.

Circuit Court Clerks also serve as the Clerk of General Sessions and Juvenile Courts and oversees Juror Administration for all courts. The Circuit Court Clerk’s Office is comprised of seven primary divisions: Administration, Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Records/Archives, Juvenile  and Jury Administration. The office of the Circuit Court Clerk coordinates and manages the general legal business, public communications, and financial operations of the courts in Montgomery County. The Circuit Court Clerk’s office employees sixty (60) full time employees.

The business services and responsibilities are defined by state statute, court rules and county policies, and include:

  • Administrative manage
  • Technology planning and deployment
  • Court case management
  • Records management and preservation of court exhibits
  • Financial management (statutory fiduciary for Circuit, General Sessions and Juvenile Court)
  • Juror Administration
  • Staff development - training and implementation of new laws and court procedures
  • Statutory dissemination of information and data reporting to various agencies
  • Courtroom support for judges and judicial equivalents

Circuit Courts

Circuit Courts are courts of general jurisdiction in Tennessee. Circuit judges hear civil cases, criminal cases and appeals of decisions from General Sessions, Juvenile and Municipal courts. The jurisdiction of Circuit Courts often overlaps that of the Chancery Courts.

General Sessions Court

General Sessions Court jurisdiction varies from county to county based on state laws and private acts. Every county is served by the court which hears civil and criminal cases. Civil jurisdiction is restricted to specific monetary limits and types of actions. Criminal jurisdiction is limited to preliminary hearings in felony cases and misdemeanor trials in which a defendant waives the right to a grand jury investigation and trial by jury in Circuit or Criminal Court. General Sessions judges also serve as juvenile judges except in counties in which the legislature has established a separate Juvenile Court.

Juvenile Court

Juvenile Court jurisdiction is vested in General Sessions Courts in all counties except those in which the law establishes special Juvenile Courts. Juvenile Courts have exclusive jurisdiction in proceedings involving minors alleged to be delinquent, unruly, dependent and neglected. Juvenile Courts also have concurrent jurisdiction with Circuit, Chancery and Probate Courts in some areas.