Montgomery County Parks Committee

Resolution Establishing the Montgomery County Parks Committee

WHEREAS, the Rules Committee is charged with the responsibility of analyzing the structure, organization and functions of the various boards, committees and commissions of Montgomery County Government; and

WHEREAS, the Rules Committee met on May 16, 2011 and voted to establish the Montgomery County Parks Committee; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of such Committee is to advise on the acquisition, development, operation and maintenance of public parks, playgrounds, recreational centers and other areas to promote and preserve the health and general welfare of the people of Montgomery County; and

WHEREAS, the membership of said committee shall consist of three commissioners and two community members, nominated by the County Mayor with the approval of the Board of County Commissioners.  The Director of Parks & Recreation, the County Mayor, the Director of Administration and the Director of Facilities Development will be ex-officio members; and

WHEREAS, the terms of the members shall be two years on a staggered basis, commencing on July 1 of each year.  No member shall serve for more than two full two-year terms in succession; and

WHEREAS, the committee shall meet quarterly, at the call of the chairman, or the majority of members; and

WHEREAS, the compensation for the committee members shall be as specified in Section I of the manual on committees; and

WHEREAS, no Conservation Board has ever been created by this Board of Commissioners pursuant to T.C.A. § 11-21-101, et seq. despite the fact that the Recreation Board’s name has changed to “County Conservation Board” pursuant to Resolution 98-1-8.

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved by the Montgomery County Board of Commissioners assembled in Regular Session on this 13th day of June, 2011, that the Montgomery County Parks Committee is hereby established as set forth herein.

Duly passed and approved this 13th day of June, 2011.