Getting to Know Us

2021 Green Certification Board

The Green Certification Program is a collaboration between Bi-County Solid Waste Management, the City of Clarksville and Montgomery County. The Green Certification Board is a group of volunteer members that provides insight and recommendations regarding the direction of the Program. The day-to-day Program operations are managed by the Green Certification Program Manager. 

Green Certification Program Manager: Carlye Sommers Carlye manages the Green Certification Program for Bi-County Solid Waste, Montgomery County and the City of Clarksville. She has been in this role since 2017. She works one-on-one with local organizations to increase sustainability and employee environmental education. Outside of work she enjoys gardening and traveling with her family.
Rose Melton of Altra Federal Credit Union (Certified in 2015)  I have been with Altra since 2007 but have been in credit unions since 1979.  This journey allowed me to find a career that I am passionate about. I want to help people achieve their financial goals.  I want to make a difference in our members financial well-being, serve my community, be a partner in education and educate our youth in financial literacy. Outside of work I enjoy horseback riding, camping, traveling and family. 
Mark Neblett of Bi-County Solid Waste Management    Mark manages Bi-County Solid Waste which includes the Landfills and Convenience centers for Montgomery and Stewart Counties.  He has been in this role since 1991. Outside of work he enjoys playing gold and spending time with his family.   
Mary Anderson of Bi-County Solid Waste Management   Mary works at Bi-County Landfill which serves Montgomery & Stewart Counties.  She works in the office on various projects and with special events.   She has been in this role since 1994. Outside of work she enjoys camping and spending time with her family. 
Bill Harpel of the City of Clarksville (Certified in 2014)
Doug Jones of Montgomery County (Certified in 2015)  Doug is an Architect and Project Manager with the Montgomery County Engineering Department since 2016. He designs and manages various construction projects for the county. He is certified an Accredited Professional in Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) by the US Green Building  Council. Doug advocates sustainable design, construction and operations standards for county building projects. Outside of work he enjoys photography, cooking, golf and has a passion for auto racing in many forms.
Gene Fish of CMCSS (Certified in 2012) One of the roles as the Special Projects Manager is Energy Manager for the Clarksville Montgomery County School System. He has been in this role since 2014. He is the primary Green Champion for the school system and organizations sustainability efforts thru out the schools. Outside of work he enjoys woodworking and gaming. 
Green Certification Program Board Vice-Chair: Olivia Herron of Austin Peay State University (Certified in 2012)   Olivia is the Sustainability Coordinator at Austin Peay State University and the Chair of their Sustainable Campus Fee Committee. She has been in this role since July 2020 and is actively working to get involved with local sustainability initiatives. In her free time she enjoys cooking, hiking and reading science fiction. 
Danielle Melton of Red Knight Distribution (Certified in 2013)       Danielle is the Client Service Advocate, for the Red Knight Distribution Center, Ashley HomeStore, and Furniture Connection of Clarksville, TN. She is the Green champion for her stores and distribution center making sure the organizations practice sustainability efforts in their daily routines. Outside of work she enjoys spending time with her family and finding outdoor adventures with her daughter. 
Larry Newton of Nyrstar (Certified in 2012) Larry is the Senior Environmental Advisor at Nyrstar (zinc plant). He has been involved in the environmental field in a variety of capacities (regional planning, consulting, county government, concrete, mining and chemical storage) since 1990. 
Sierra Allison of Clarksville Area Chamber of Commerce (Certified in 2014) Sierra is the Events & Member Relations Coordinator of the Clarksville Area Chamber of Commerce. She has a Bachelor of Arts in Professional Communication from Austin Peay State University. Her passion for environmental sustainability flourished after taking an intensive course on corporate social responsibility. She believes that an organization has the ethical responsibility to reduce their carbon footprint, while also believing that sustainability can yield great returns on not only the community but also within the organization and its workplace as well. Outside of work she enjoys board games, art, and cuddling her cats. 
J.D. Richardson of Customs House Museum & Cultural Center (Certified in 2017) J.D. Richardson is an APSU graduate, U.S. Marine Corps veteran, and has been serving as the Facilities Manager at the Customs House Museum & Cultural Center since December 2014. The Customs House Museum became green certified in 2017, and has since leveled up to gold status. In his spare time, J.D. enjoys reading, fishing, hunting, painting models, and going on scenic drives/hikes with his amazing wife, kids, and their doggies.  
Lynn Staggs of Stone, Rudolph & Henry (Certified in 2013) Lynn joined Stone, Rudolph & Henry, PLC in June 2015 as a Marketing Senior for both the Clarksville and Brentwood offices. As a graduate of APSU, she loves her campus community, her Clarksville community, and has a strong desire to lead by example to keep her offices, and community GREEN! Lynn has also served in various community organizations to include Relay For Life, Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, and Mission Habitat teams. She authored a book, Joy Comes In The Mourning in 2012, and together, with her husband, have five children and 10 grandchildren.

Not Pictured:

Green Certification Program Board Chair: Martha McDow of Trane (Certified in 2013)


Past Board Members

  • Steve Springer (Stone, Rudolph & Henry)
  • Melinda Shepard (Clarksville Area Chamber of Commerce)
  • Chad Crocker (Bridgestone Metalpha)
  • Daryl Pater (Mainstream Heating and Cooling)
  • Jessica Banker (Red Knight Distribution)
  • Haley Randell (APSU)
  • Tim Swaw (Montgomery County)
  • Michelle Newell (Previous Program Manager)
  • Barbara Green (Bridgestone Metalpha)
  • Steven James (Nyrstar)
  • Laura Prange (APSU)
  • Ron Smithfield (Smithfield Manufacturing)