Home    |    

 Due to heavy rains, numerous trees and power lines are down throughout the county. Some roadways are also affected. If you come upon water in the roadway, remember don’t drown, turn around!  

All Clear.

Organizational Structure

As a 24-hour full-service law enforcement agency, the administrative management and support of the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office is a major undertaking. The Sheriff’s Office currently manages an annual budget of over $22 million and a total of 395 employees, including deputy sheriffs and civilians, spread across four divisions.

Organizational Charts

(Click thumbnail below to view larger image)

Sheriff's Office
Full Organizational Chart
Administrative Division Courts & Process Division Detention Division Enforcement Division
Full organizational chart Administrative division chart Courts and Process division Detention division Enforcement division

Rank Structure

The rank structure of the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office establishes a chain of command for commissioned deputy sheriffs that allows operations to be effectively directed. The chain of command is a series of management positions in order of authority with each higher rank representing a higher level of responsibility. Higher ranks like Captain and Lieutenant represent a broader range or scope of authority, while lower ranks like Sergeant and Corporal represent a more focused on specialized area or unit of supervision.

The organizational structure is composed of eight basic ranks:

RankBadge ColorScope of ResponsibilityInsignia
Deputy SheriffSilverNot a supervisorNone
Field Training OfficerSilverField Training Officer for Patrol Shift Supervisor or Detention DivisionFTO
Investigator or
School Resource Officer
GoldNot a supervisor, but Investigators may provide direction for deputies at crime scenesNone
CorporalGold First-line Supervisor/Assistant to Shift Sergeant
2 Chevrons
Sergeant*GoldUnit or Shift Commander
3 Chevrons
LieutenantGoldSection Commander
Single Gold Bar
CaptainGoldDivision Commander
Double Gold Bar
Chief Deputy SheriffGoldDepartment-wide jurisdiction with the authority to act in the stead of the Sheriff
Four Gold Stars
SheriffGoldDepartment-wide authority
Five Gold Stars arranged in a pentagon

* In the Enforcement Division, there are two Sergeant ranks: Sergeant and Investigator Sergeant. While Investigator Sergeants are compensated at a higher pay grade, the scope of authority is the same. In the Detention Divisions, there are two classifications of Sergeant: Shift Commander and Sergeant. Shift Commanders have authority over an entire shift, including other supervisors with the rank of Sergeant, even though their pay grade is the same.

This information is made available to the public and law enforcement in the interest of public safety.
Any unauthorized use of this information is forbidden and subject to criminal prosecution.