County News

Montgomery County Government
1 Millennium Plaza
(  Map  |  Directions  )
Clarksville, TN 37040
(931) 648-8482
E-mail Us

Bowers Inducted into APSU Academic Hall of Fame

The mayor of Montgomery County, who also is an Austin Peay State University alumna, was inducted into the Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 191 Academic Hall of Fame.

Mayor Carolyn Bowers (’68, ’79) was inducted Tuesday, April 10 during the APSU chapter’s initiation ceremony. As part of a permanent tribute, her name will be displayed on a plaque housed in the Woodward Library on the main campus.

The APSU PKP chapter established the Academic Hall of Fame in 1997. While it is not necessary for a nominee to hold membership in PKP, the nominee must be an alumnus of APSU who, since graduating, has demonstrated through his or her life the beliefs of The Society.  

Bowers earned both her bachelor’s in business and master’s in education degrees from APSU. She served as a teacher with the Clarksville‐Montgomery County School System from 1969-98, teaching both high school and adult business classes.

Following her retirement from teaching, she successfully sought election as Montgomery County trustee and served in that capacity until her election as Montgomery County mayor in 2006, a position that she holds today.

While a classroom teacher, Bowers served on numerous statewide task forces and committees that made recommendations and decisions about the future of education in Tennessee. She was also voted as CMCSS Distinguished Classroom Teacher in 1998.

Since her election to public office, she has continued to share her knowledge and expertise through her service on the APSU President’s Circle of Advisors and advisory committees for the mathematics department and school of nursing at APSU. She has been recognized with the Athena Award for Professional Leadership Among Women, the Clarksville Rotary “Service Above Self” Award, and as Rotarian of the Year. She also has served in numerous community memberships.